Scene on the Strait returns Aug. 11

Scene on the Strait is back! One of the most popular art festivals in Northern California will take place Saturday, August 11, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Martinez Regional Shoreline in Martinez, California.

Now in its sixteenth year, Scene on the Strait is a premiere showcase for landscape or “plein air” painting, while raising money to help the environment. The art sold at Scene on the Strait goes to benefit the nonprofit Carquinez Regional Environmental Education Center (CREEC), whose mission is to restore butterfly habitat along the Carquinez Strait. To do this valuable work, teenagers from underserved communities plant native oak trees and raise Monarch butterflies. Over the years CREEC has restored seven acres of land while releasing countless butterflies into the wild.

Twenty of the leading plein air artists in California will be painting on site that day. Attendees can stroll around and see and talk to the artists while a jazz trio plays. Additionally, all art purchases are tax deductible of 40 percent or more. There will also be art auctions and gourmet food and drink available. Parking and admission are always free. Call 510-787-9772 or bookmark this website,, for the latest updates and information.

Participating artists are: Rolando Barrero, Nikki Basch-Davis, Mary Lou Correia, Kevin Courtner, Cynthia Eastman-Roan, Sylvia Gonzalez, Jack Garasky, Dana Hooper, Geri Keary, Ramona Kennon-Fink, Susan McKenna List, Chris Newhard, Teresa Onoda, Nancy Roberts, Robert Sandidge, Ron Schlorff, Carol Tarzier, Gregory Vasgerdsian, Mamie Walters, and Norma Webb.

Thank you Volunteers!

Thanks to a microgrant from the Crockett Community Foundation, CREEC volunteers planted shrubs and herbaceous plants at Elkhorn Canyon. At the CREEC Greenhouse, the volunteers enjoyed lunch after their hard work and during the Watershed meeting which followed the planting. Special thank you goes out to Dr. Dean Kelch for facilitating the planting and the volunteers, who included: Karen Peterson, Evan Morgan, Bill Concannon, Ed Tannenbaum, and others who contributed their time and sweat to the effort.